Mon, Dec 22, 2014 03:54
HomeMost Recent NewsLone Star Business BlogContact Us
Advertise with Texas Business
Dallas Film Society To Present The Art Of Film, Honoring John Lithgow

Texas Business reports:  DALLAS—The Dallas Film Society, a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization that celebrates films and their impact on society, will honor screen and theatre legend, John Lithgow at its annual fall fundraising event The Art of Film on November 18, 2011, at the Hall of State, Fair Park. 

 Two-time Academy Award nominee and winner of two Golden Globe Awards, five Emmy Awards, two Tony Awards and two Screen Actors Guild Awards, John Lithgow will be presented with the Dallas Star Award during an evening that will celebrate the vast achievements of his career. 

The following day, November 19, the Dallas Film Society will screen a retrospective of two of Lithgow’s most famous films.  The Art of Film will have 350 film fans have dinner and be a part of an intimate conversation with Lithgow and renowned film critic, Elvis Mitchell. 

 “The Dallas Film Society created The Art of Film to be a celebration of an extraordinary career,” said James Faust, Artistic Director of the DALLAS Film Society. “2012 will mark John Lithgow’s 40th year on stage and screen and one can only marvel at his achievements of the past four decades.  He is a rare breed – he acts, sings, dances, writes and in all of these skill sets he consistently delivers a standard that others can only try to emulate.  John Lithgow is a true star and I am humbled and honored that we will have the opportunity to pay homage to him and put his accomplishments on a pedestal.”

 The DALLAS Film Society honors individuals who have made important contributions to modern cinema and the advancement of the art of film. Lithgow joins a list of luminaries who have received the Steuben Crystal Dallas Star Award, courtesy of Neiman Marcus.   Previous recipients have included Frank Darabont, Adrien Brody, Lauren Bacall, Sydney Pollack, Charlize Theron, John Lee Hancock, Kathryn Bigelow, Francis Ford Coppola, Helen Hunt, Marvin Hamlisch, Peter Bogdanovich, Robert Towne and 2010 The Art of Film Honoree, Robert Duvall.

 Lithgow’s interests and talents span all areas of the entertainment industry: theatre, film, television and author of eight New York Times best-selling children’s picture books.  In 1973, he won a Tony Award three weeks after his Broadway debut in David Storey’s The Changing Room. Since then, he appeared on Broadway 19 times, earning another Tony for “Sweet Smell of Success,” three Tony Award nominations and four Drama Desk Awards, as well as being inducted into the Theatre Hall of Fame.  He is one of a few American actors invited to join The Royal Shakespeare Company.

On screen, Lithgow began to make a major mark in the early 1980s.  At that time, he was nominated for Academy Awards in back-to-back years for The World According To Garp (1982) and Terms Of Endearment (1983).  In the years before and after, he has appeared in over thirty films.   


For television, Lithgow has been nominated for eleven Emmy Awards.  Three of the five Emmy Awards he has won are perhaps for his most celebrated creation as Dick Solomon on the hit NBC comedy series 3rd Rock From The Sun. Following the show’s six year-run, Lithgow earned a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He has recently found new success in television drama with Showtime’s Dexter.

 “Education is the cornerstone of the DALLAS Film Society’s mission,” said Tanya Foster, chief executive of the Dallas Film Society. “Through The Art of Film, we can raise money and awareness to support this mission and help educate the next generation of filmmakers.  Honoring John Lithgow also serves to motivate anyone interested in pursuing a career in the entertainment industry.  He has not only done it all, he has done it with style and class and that to me, is inspirational.”

Individual tickets from $250 are available for purchase, and underwriting opportunities are available from $2,500-$35,000. Tickets for the screenings the next day are free for The Art of Film guests and members of the Dallas Film Society.